Web-Companion "Essential EU Law in Charts - Reprints"

Order: Subscribe to RSS feed

Dear Reader of "Essential EU Law in Charts, 2nd Lisbon edition, 2010, <...> Reprint".

Please take note of the following updates and corrigenda. Please consider that this book has seen several reprints, which brought about minor updates with each reprint. It may  therefore occur that updates or corrigenda are listed which may already have been taken care of in your printed copy.

Update | p. 73

Page: 073 Chart Number: 3/6 Chart Title: Structure of the European Parliament

Following the adoption of transitional measures, the box in the 3rd row must read:

The other Members of the European Parliament (MEP), 2009-2014

735 additional members (in total 736), elected by the peoples of all Member States in direct elections, based on a proportional representation system, for five years. There is no uniform election procedure yet (see Art. 229(1) TFEU). In 2010, transitional measures have been adopted in order to raise the number of MEPs to 754 until the end of the 2009-2014 legislative period. For twelve Member States, the number of MEPs has changed, as provided for by the Intergovernmental Conference which approved the Lisbon Treaty.
Distribution of seats:

Germany 99
France 74
United Kingdom, Italy 73 each
Spain 54
Poland 51
Romania 33
Netherlands 26
Belgium, Czech Republic,Hungary, Greece, Portugal 22 each
Sweden 20
Austria 19
Bulgaria 18
Denmark, Finland, Slovakia 13 each
Ireland, Lithuania 12 each
Latvia 9
Slovenia 8
Cyprus, Estonia, Luxembourg 6 each
Malta 3


On the right to vote in special territories of the Member States, see e.g. Spain v UK (2006), concerning the UK and Gibraltar; Eman and Sevinger (2006), concerning the Netherlands and Aruba.

Published: 21 April 2013