Web-Companion "Essential EU Law in Charts" 4th ed 2018

Order: Subscribe to RSS feed
Details... Dear Reader of "Essential EU Law in Charts, 4th edition, 2018". Please take note of the following updates and corrigenda:

Update | p. 80

Page: 080 Chart Number: 3/6 Chart Title: Structure of the European Parliament

In the 3rd box, entitled “The other Members of the European Parliament (MEP), 2009-2014”, the title must read:

The other Members of the European Parliament (MEP), 2019-2024


and the second last paragraph, reading “* Following Brexit (see Chart2/27), it is planned that some of the UK seats will be given to underrepresented Member States; the rest will be available for possible EU enlargement.” must be replaced with:


* With regard to Brexit, the Council adopted a decision on the future composition of the European Parliament; Decision 2018/937.


The box in the 4th row must read:

Political groups in the European Parliament

The MEPs sit in political groups (fractions), based on their chosen political affiliation. There are currently eight political groups:

  • Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE);
  • Group of the European People’s Party (Christian Democrats) (EPP);
  • Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats (S&D);
  • Group of the Greens / European Free Alliance (Verts/ALE);
  • The European Conservatives and Reformists Group (ECR);
  • Confederal Group of the European United Left – Nordic Green Left (GUE/NGL);
  • Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy Group (EFD);
  • Europe of Nations and Freedom Group (EFN).
Published: 25 August 2019