The Development of European Integration

Structure of the European Commission

Chart 3 | 8

Topic:

The Commission consists of 27 independent Commissioners, one from each Member State. Under the guidance of a president the Commissioners are organised into a number of different departments.

The European Commission (The Commission)

President

Elected by the European Parliament, upon a proposal from the European Council that takes into account the elections to the European Parliament

In the 2019-2024 Commission, there are 8 Vice Presidents of which 3 are Executive Vice Presidents.

College of Commissioners

- 1 Commissioner per Member State (see Chart 3/3), including the President and the HR FASP who is one of the Vice-Presidents (see Chart 3/9);
- · Must be citizens of EU Member States.

Entire body must be approved, together with the president, by the European Parliament, which can reject candidates. Formal election by the European Council for a five year term.

- The Commissioners work in Commissioners' groups, each of which is led by a Vice President.
- Each Commissioner leads a Cabinet, with a Chef de Cabinet and other personnel, and heads one or more Directorates General.

Directorates General (DG) of the 2019-2024 Commission	
 Agriculture and Rural Development (AGRI) Budget (BUDG) Climate Action (CLIMA) Communication (COMM) Competition (COMP) Defence, Industry and Space (DEFIS) Economic and Financial Affairs (ECFIN) Education, Youth, Sport and Culture (EAC) Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion (EMPL) Energy (ENER) Environment (ENV) European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid (ECHO) 	 International Cooperation and Development (DEVCO) Interpretation (SCIC) Joint Research Centre (JRC) Justice and Consumers (JUST) Maritime Affairs and Fisheries (MARE) Migration and Home Affairs (HOME) Operations Mobility and Transport (MOVE) Regional and Urban Policy (REGIO)
 European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargeme Negotiations (NEAR) 	nt • Research and Innovation (RTD) • Structural Reform Support (REFORM)

Eurostat - European statistics (EUROSTAT)

28 Feb 2020

- Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union (FISMA)
- Structural Reform Support (REFORM)
- Taxation and Customs Union (TAXUD)
- Trade (TRADE)
- Translation (DGT)