The Development of European Integration

Structure of the Council of Ministers ("The Council")

Chart 3 | 7

Topic:

The Council of Ministers consists of different ministers from the Member States' governments, depending on the business to be done.

The Council (of Ministers)

Presidency

- To be determined by the European Council, rotating every six months (see also Declaration No 9)
- Exception: Foreign Affairs Council, whose president is the HR FASP (see *Chart 3/9*), Art. 18(3) TEU

Members of the Council

1 Minister per Member State, depending on the nature of the business.

Configurations to be determined by the European Council (except for the General Affairs Council and the Foreign Affairs Council). List based on Decision 2009/878 of the General Affairs Council:

General affairs (GAC) Agriculture and fisheries (AGRIFISH) Competitiveness (COMPET) Economic and financial affairs (Ecofin) Education, youth, culture and sport (EYCS) Employment, social policy, health and consumer affairs (EPSCO) Environment (ENVI) Foreign affairs (FAC) Justice and home affairs (JHA) Transport, telecommunications and energy (TTE)

Day-to-day business done by permanent representatives

Committee of Permanent Representatives, COREPER (French: "<u>Co</u>mité des <u>représentants permanents</u>"), Art. 240(1) TFEU

COREPER I

Deputy Permanent Representatives, for technical matters

COREPER II

Permanent Representatives in person, for important political, commercial, economic or institutional matters

Name of the institution:

- According to the Treaties: "Council".
- According to the Council itself (e.g. on the internet): "Council of the European Union".
- The best term in order to avoid confusion with the European Council is: "Council of Ministers".